It’s been awhile…

I haven’t posted anything in a while.  Honestly, life has just been busy and I haven’t had the time to sit down and get it done.  Last blog post I set you up with “wait until we get those results” and then didn’t even give you the low down.

All in all my bloodwork looked great.  TSH, T3 and T4 were all right where they should be.  The panel of vitamins and minerals she drew all came back fine.  I was on the very low end of normal for Vitamin D so my nutritionist/naturopathic lady added in a Vitamin D supplement once per day.  The only number still way off is the thyroid antibody TgAb.  (Thyroglobulin Antibody.. I think..).  This is the marker that told my internist that I had Hashimoto’s to start with.  Now, I had only been doing the elimination diet for 2 weeks when they drew the blood so I did not expect to see a huge drastic change there.  We will redraw in a  few months and that will be the true test.

I have added back in eggs and corn successfully.  I even had a small cup of decaf coffee this morning with almond milk.  It was okay… just not the same as my crappy filled with bad stuff french vanilla creamer I usually use.  🙂

Otherwise the only “cheating” i have done at all is with an occasional glass of wine- my birthday, a friends birthday and my moms birthday.  Doesn’t seem to bother me so I will keep it as an occasional thing for now.  Really avoiding alcohol is more about healing the adrenals than anything else.

So, here we are.  I made a yummy vegetable quinoa minestrone type soup I found on Pinterest.  Turned out really well and reheats well for lunch.  My kiddos ate a bowl with a turkey sandwich and I just had a large bowl of soup.  So delicious and so filling.. give it a try.  I followed the recipe as written.

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2014/02/kale-quinoa-minestrone-vegan-gluten-free/

Leave a Reply

